The Week at Deep-Dish Life – Week 3

Wow, are we really nearing the end of January? That’s just hard to believe, I don’t know where the time goes. When I first decided to write this little weekly review (first post here), I had no idea how I would, week-after-week, go about sharing all the dimensions of “abundance” in my life (my one-word vision for 2015). But, thankfully, there are a number of things to share. And this week, I have some wonderful news! Hint: it’s in regards to a little bundle of joy!

I'm a Grandmother!

I’m a Grandmother!

CELEBRATING….

Our grandson Kai was born in the wee hours of Wednesday morning! Kai arrived a healthy baby and his mom and dad are doing well. And I couldn’t be more excited to join the amazing world of grand-parenting! More pics, coming soon…


 

PORTRAYING…

For Christmas, I got this little Gorillapod Mobile stand from Photojojo and this week I finally had some time to test it out on a few self-portraits. Since my iPhone is an older model with no self-timer for the camera, I downloaded an app from Joby  (there’s an app for everything, yes?).  Fun! I’ll have to find an excuse to play around with stop motion and timelapse options some other week. I’m sure I can find a good use for that.


 

READING…

I admit, I have a weak spot for books and posts on creativity, driven partly from curiosity about the various processes behind creative projects. So when I discovered Creative Block: Advice and Projects from 50 Successful Artists on the shelf of my local library, I had to check it out. Literally.  I intended to just to give it a quick glance but found myself intrigued and ended up reading several interviews. Each artist profile concludes with a quick little “unBlock” project and a number of these might make interesting projects on their own. For example, from Lisa Congdon – draw or paint a familiar object, the same object for 30 days, doing it differently each day. From Mary Kate McDevitt – Handletter a quote heard during the day, for 30 days.

Overall, the book was a fun and engaging read. (For a much better review on it, check out this post from BrainPickings.org.)  The theme that stood out the most to me about the “unBlock” projects is that many of them in one way or another emphasize getting into a habit of work, that is focusing on process rather than result. Reminding me of this quote from Chuck Close.

All the best ideas come out of the process; they come out of the work itself. Things occur to you. … You feel like you need this great idea before you get down to work, and I find that’s almost never the case.

Kinda like this little weekly reflection  – keep writing, be consistent!


Well, that’s about it for this week – thanks for reading this. I hope you have a great week ahead.

Leave a Reply

