Weekly Photo Challenge: In the Background

The theme for this week’s Weekly Photo Challenge is “In the Background.”  This was an intriguing challenge and I went back and forth through my photo library before selecting two that I really like.  This challenge proves that sometimes what makes an image most interesting is what we don’t see, at least initially.

The first one is from the Lafayette Cemetery No.1 in New Orleans, near the Garden District. We visited the cemetery last summer and walked away with a greater appreciation of the history and the care and uptake needed to preserve these sites. I inadvertently caught some of that work in one of my pictures. The contrast of the colorful silk flowers against the backdrop of the tomb caught my eye and only later did I notice the grounds worker in the background. He was one of several workers tending to the grounds the day we visited.

The second image was taken in my hometown of Fayetteville. My intent was to get several high quality images of the fish in the little pond. While I did get a couple of great shots, my favorite here is the one with my son in the background. The water creates an almost carnival-mirror look to his reflection.

If you’d like to participate in the fun just head over to the Weekly Photo Challenge site!

Landscape worker at Lafayette #1 in New Orleans Garden District

Landscape worker at Lafayette #1 in New Orleans Garden District

Background Reflections

6 thoughts on “Weekly Photo Challenge: In the Background

  1. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: In the Background | Ryan Photography

  2. Pingback: An Irish General… and me | Ireland, Multiple Sclerosis & Me

Leave a Reply

